Vague-booking: The New Cry For Attention

I learnt a new word today “vague-booking”. According to the Urban Dictionary it means “an intentionally vague Facebook status update, that prompts friends to ask what’s going on…” Personally, I think it’s a fancy word that’s means you just want attention.

Now I know that even I have been guilty of vague-booking in the past and I apologise for it, but some people seem to make a professional career out of it. A popular example of vague-booking:

Person A…is  upset.

This leads to people to ask why is Person A upset. Person A then replies oh, I can’t talk about it, but I’m sooooo upset. Which gives Person A even more attention than before, because it must be bad if they can’t talk about it, right?

That’s an example of vague-booking. And that’s one of my pet peeves. Seriously, if you don’t want to give details, don’t mention it. AT ALL. Don’t drop hints that something horrible has happened and then get pissed off that no one asks what’s wrong. Or worse, get upset that everyone asks you what’s wrong.

If you decide to put it out there, that’s your choice. But don’t get mad when you do it repeatedly and people catch on to your little cries for attention and don’t give you any. Most people have a limit to how much sympathy they can give a person before it’s all gone. Weekly cries for attention quickly add up and soon there is nothing left for when something bad actually does happen.

Even worse than vague-booking is the other popular status of “…is cleaning out their friends. Sorry if you don’t make the cut.”

Now, really. If you have so many friends that you need to announce that you have too many, someone is a little insecure. Why do people feel the need to announce that you aren’t good enough to be their friend anymore? What ever happened to just quietly deleting them and then getting on with your life?

Is announcing that you’re getting rid of some people just another attempt at getting more attention? Do you think that people are suddenly going to come out of the woodwork and beg to keep your friendship? Really? Do you really think that you’re THAT important in the overall scheme of things?

I have no doubt that some people are reading this, shaking their heads at me, but truthfully, this needed to be said. The vague-bookers out there may not know it, but they are driving away all their friends and by the time they get around to Stage Two: The Defriending Message, they may find that there’s not too many people left to defriend. We would have taken care of that ourselves.

Of course, this could also lead to a mass defriending of Lulu…but don’t worry, I promise not to post how upset I am and then refuse to talk about it.

~ by Lulupop on Sunday, February 7, 2010.

12 Responses to “Vague-booking: The New Cry For Attention”

  1. *claps* I completely agree with you on this kind of stuff. I see this happen all the time and I can’t stand it. I think I might keep the Urban Dictionary link on my clipboard or something and post the definition whenever someone does ‘Vaguebooking’.

    I think my hatred of that kind of stuff just stems from a general hatred of pity-seeking. I don’t mind feeling sorry for someone who deserves it, but anything more than that pisses me off. Hell, I get angry when people pity me, even if I DO warrant it.

  2. I agree 1 billion percent. I hate these kinds of people with a flaming passion. These needy people need their accounts revoked and their computers destroyed. Maybe there’s an app for that.

  3. Just wanted to say thank you to everyone who has found their way to my blog. And especially to those few people who have put the link on their Facebook page for everyone to read.

    It’s nice to know that my rant was appreciated :-D

    Lulupop

  4. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. :)

  5. The worse ones wait until everyone they know has posted ” I feel sooooooooo sorry for you… ” And then come in at the end and say “Thank you, .. I love you all” feeding into their omnipotence complex as if everyone is sitting idly by their computers waiting to hear that !…As if they think it’s their job to give closure to everyone who feels sorry for them by letting them know it is okay be that way.

  6. Dude…I am never sure exactly what constitutes vaguebooking exactly, but I’m pretty sure it can include ANYTHING where the person complains about some events that include some mysterious people that go unspecified, along with other details being left out. If you’re not going to tell what happened, but just complain about how “people are a certain way and it sucks,” then just keep your complaints to yourself. We don’t care how much social conflicts make you cry, and we don’t feel like holding your hand through being an adult. /rant off :)

  7. You are my hero. This is amazing. Thank you for putting into words exactly how I feel when I see this kind of crap.

  8. Love it~how can I post this to my FB page?!

  9. this post is awesome and sums up my husband’s childhood friend perfectly. you need to post this on facebook so people can like it, and get the word out there that vaguebooking is not ok

  10. LOL! That was great quoted you and share on my FB book page! :)

  11. what anout the people that like your status, then leave a comment that starts off about your post, but then starts telling you something that has happened to them and then the whole comment is about them

  12. Confession: I’ve posted the Friend Audit message before. It was a total passive-aggressive way of making sure someone knew I un-friended them while not having to say “You’re not my friend anymore!”. It never occurred to me that other people may see is as friend-insecurity but you’re TOTALLY right. I… am upset. (lol)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

